Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Monday, February 16, 2015

TanOrganic - Tanning Oil Review!

Hi guys!

With Spring peeking around the corner (hopefully!) it's about this time of year when we start wanting to pack away the layers and break out the florals and freshness of the new season. It's also the time when we have to say goodbye to our winter paleness, usually covered by long tops and coats, and the holy grail of the thick black tights!

Admittedly, some of us Irish girls get a bit of a shock when we do though, thoughts of 'surely I'm not that pale!' being one of many! But if like me you actually ARE that pale, then a little bit of fake bake goes a long, long way.

 TanOrganic Tanning Oil

I had heard a ton about +TanOrganic via social media and friends, and promised myself once the new season came around I would treat myself to a new glow. The T.O guys kindly sent me a sample bottle to try first, complete with an amazingly efficient exfoliating  glove and a sweet box of chocs as well!



Getting down to the nitty gritty though, what makes it different? Well, I did a little bit of research before I tried, and I found that it was actually the first tan to be *ECO certified, made with 87% certified organic ingredients! Which is amazing for those of us worrying about what we're putting on our skin and want to rein in the artificial ingredients.

See a full list of the goodness here!

 It's a tan that loves skin as much as your skin will love it

With tons of skin loving oils like Rosehip, Argan, and Coconut to name but a few, it becomes obvious that this isn't just another tan. It's a tan that loves skin as much as your skin will love it, and you feel that from the very first application. I was weary as I am with most 'gradual tans' as I've had bad experiences (being so pale) when they develop no matter how well I've blended and applied, I always end up with massive obvious patches and streaks. So, I applied one thin layer of tanning oil and waited.

The first thought was that it felt really nurishing against my skin, it didn't feel packed on or heavy either which was a major plus for those of us that like very little fuss.

The next thing I noticed was how nicely it developed, and continued to do so for at least 24hours. Which means to me that it's really build-able, I personally like a light tan most of the time, but I know my friends prefer a deeper tan as their go-to shade and come summer this will achieved so easily with something like this.Even after two days (and a gentle shower!) there were zero streaks and minimal fading (though the tan is very easily removed with the amazing Tan Organic exfoliating glove, five minutes in the shower tops, ladies!)

*ECOCERT is an organic certification organisation, founded in France in 1991. It is based in Europe but conducts inspections in over 80 countries, making it one of the largest organic certification organizations in the world. The certification process is voluntary but it is also one of the most stringent in the market as Ecocert undertakes at least one inspection per year, supplemented by spot checks over the course of the year.


Now for a comparison! 

Yes, I am the palest person in the world, I reflect light! *and I am wearing a dress in the first pic, just in case it's not clear!Oops!*
Before one application of T.O - I am Casper!

After one light application and a few hours development


Like I said, I like a light application but this can be easily reapplied to achieve the desired result if you need a darker shade without the fear of being 'tango'd' I promise. 

I really love this nourishing oil, and I would recommend it if you're looking for something easy and ethically made not to mention environmentally friendly. As well as that we're supporting a home grown Irish brand! Sure what else could a girl want?!

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Instagram Indulging, January hauls & Upcoming Beauty Banter!



If you follow me on Instagram you'll have seen a few updates from me this month. Including how I started off 2015 with a clean slate blog wise, I gave it a bit of a make under, stripping things back to basics. Back to my favored aesthetic of minimalist and negative space, leaving breathing room for more focus on my posts rather than my side projects! I hope you like it ;) 

This month has also been a tad hectic in real life, but one that has left me with a bit of a obsession with my phone and that little photo app. Anyone else suffering from a ‘gram addiction? I never used to, in fact up until recently it was a sporadic occurrence for me to spend much time on Instagram at all, beyond the mandatory check in once a day. Lately though I’ve found myself loving it, finding the littlest things worth a heart or two, finding amazing new followers and a place for chit chat about my January #hauls! 

Hashtag #Scaredtocheckmybankaccount??

I have officially put myself on a shopping ban though, until at least the end of next month. As realistically, there is nothing I really ‘need’ cosmetic or skincare wise that hasn’t been taken care of by Christmas gifts, or the sales. But the good news is I have a ton of new items available for reviews in the coming days. Including +AnastasiaBeverlyHills +Origins +MAC Cosmetics & more! 

See my initial pics via my Instagram!! 


Needless to say that’s enough right?

Is it ever enough? Is this where we fall into a consumerism crisis of conscience? As well as an over use of alliteration? Hm. Maybe!

I have been a fan of +Origins  for a couple of years now, but never really dived in to the brand the way I wanted to. I think I solved that with the purchase of their ‘mini’ set. A fantastic offer from +House of Fraser  Belfast that is allowing me to try out all their most popular goodies, without the commitment of a full size product. So far, I am loving them all, and I will have a more in-depth review coming soon. Also within my holiday haul was the new +Clarins UK Concealer, and while their shades are limited so far, being super pale sometimes pays off, as I fit their shade 1 almost perfectly. It’s a smooth application of liquid concealer, that even on the first and second application, the results are pretty great and it's something I want to review properly soon as well!

Also, after discovering my +BourjoisFrance addiction (there is no other name for it at this point let's be real) when I was organising my makeup the other day it was suggested via Instagram that I do a Brand Focus post. It was so inspiring to me because it really is a brand I have loved and championed for years now.So, that should be coming up so and I'm super excited about going in dept on one of my favourite high-street skincare and makeup  brands!
Oops??
I hope to see and hear from you all soon in the coming weeks, much more beauty banter to come well in to 2015 

Laura
x



Saturday, November 23, 2013

It's beginning to look a lot like Chrisma.... okay so not yet!

Is it just me or does Christmas marketing start earlier every year? I know it's not uncommon now to see Halloween decorations and Christmas decor sharing an aisle in many shops. I think, personally, it's a bit much. Each year stores and brands get more and more aggressive in their push for Christmas sales and even though we think we're getting great bargains we're really not, it's far too calculated now, and I miss when we were little and it seemed that little bit more special!

But, my skepticism aside, I do love to indulge in the Christmas shop as much as the next girl so I guess their crazy marketing wins!  So before the big mad rush starts, I'll keep things simple this week with a couple of cosmetic try-outs that I've been using for a few weeks now.

Starting with some #Bourjois Paris Shine Edition Lippy! This is a bold raspberry red that can be layered to add more depth to the colour or worn with one application for a softer, easier to wear, everyday shade. I love the Shine Edition Lipsticks because they're like a balm, soft and smooth but not sticky like a regular lip-gloss, but it still gives your lips that lovely glossy finish all the while keeping your lips hydrated for 'up to ten hours' - or so they say. If I had to compare them to anything it would be the Rouge Coco Shine from +CHANEL . Either way, the shades are adorable and they're all available on the highstreet if you'd like to try! I got mine in +Boots UK



#Collection's Lasting Perfection Foundation - I bought this after having been a massive fan of the Lasting Perfecting Concealer for such a long time. This is for someone that is used to lighter foundations as of late, a rather thick consistency for a high street foundation. But, that's not necessarily a bad thing. It's worked well on the days where I needed that little bit extra coverage, and like the formula of the concealer it really doesn't move once applied. This, in itself is both great and awful. Mainly because even though I bought the lightest shade available, it still appeared dark on me and when it set  there seemed to be a ring in parts even though I blended everything properly down my neck. So, I'm not sure about this one, but as seen on my hand it really does a great job with a small amount, in covering not only veins but redness too. If you like a more full coverage that sticks around all day this one might be worth a whirl!



Sunday, October 6, 2013

Mini Primark Haul

+Primark @Penny's, Primani, whatever you want to call it it's safe to say that I have a sliiight addiction to popping into Primark/Penny's (NI it's Primark, in the 'south' it's Pennys, just an fyi!) Since I haven't been able to feed my addiction for at least a month, I was surprised I didn't as quick-buy crazy as I could have the other day which is both surprising and nice. We'll view it as having more self control where shopping for bargains is concerned, and that's never a bad thing, right?

Anyway, the mini haul today consists of : My first snood of the season! Yet another statement necklace (I know, I know, I can't give them up, sorry!) a new Hask tube of hair goodness - this time in Keratin, and two winey/purple coloured tops and a 'Snug' vintage looking decorative pillow. *Bonus Mulberry sneaking into the shot from Instagram!





 I think mustard will be the shade of the season this year, if not for everyone else, maybe just for me. Ever since I saw that mustard coat on Lizzie Olsen (see my star style crush up above for deets) I've been obsessed with finding accessories in that shade and the nood ticked that box so it was too good to pass up.
And having it retail at E6 it was just calling to me.

Next up is the newest addition to my necklace collection, and for work or jazzing up a plain outfit these types of costume jewellery is beyond handy. They're cheap, they're cheerful and they last a fairly decent amount of time for the price (this one retailed for E5) it has three colours throughout - rose gold, yellow gold and black with beaded detail and a folding down option for space saving when stored. I love these types of necklaces for work because it allows you a bit of personality in what needs to be a neat and professionally styled outfit.

The new Hask Keratin protein oil isn't something I've tried before (thought I am a huge fan of their other hair oils) so this was a no brainer purchase for me. Have to say, I've only used it once since I've got it but already (as you can hopefully see from the snood pic) my curls look a lot more bouncy and healthy than they were looking before I applied the oil. I'm a fan of anything that says it will save your hair, smooth it out and all without weighing it down. As I have such fine hair, it's always a struggle to find oils that do that but don't leave it looking limp and greasy when I know it's not. This could be a staple, so we shall see!

The two tops I bought were just 'basics' really, nothing to write home (or in a blog about? ;) ) but, necessary all the same. I love purple, it's even the accent colour of my otherwise white and cream bedroom, and I've been adding it slowly but surely to my wardrobe for A/W2013.

Bonus purple in the form of the +Primark online home wears department, with the little Snug pillow. No real science behind the purchase really, it was cute and sweet and I like cute sweet things so why not? Right?

Until next time!

Laura
EIC
xox


Saturday, September 21, 2013

Skincare: Origins DrinkUp Intensive Mask Review!

I had heard good things about this product in the blogger-sphere lately, and the final endorsement came from +Lellie Moi  during our lovely Blogger meet up / sleepover at the @Malone Lodge Hotel in @Belfast. There we chatted away about all things skincare and the ins and outs of being a blogger. One of the recommendations she gave me (aside from continuing my obsession with handbags!) was this beauty. I love trying out new products, this blog is nothing if not proof of that, and this was no different. Having heard such good things about it's skin rescuing qualities and what not, I went straight out and got this to give it a real try. After testing it overnight at the blogger sleepover, waking up feeling tired but looking much more refreshed than I felt, it was only right I gave it a fair trail to see how it worked on a more long term basis.




First off, it smells AMAZING. Like I can't even really describe it but it's fruity and fresh but not too much... sort of smells like frosties sweets if you know that smell? But there's also Apricots and Mango scents in there too, it's a feast for the senses first of all. Secondly, it's super absorbent in that it doesn't sit on the skin at all like other 'masks' tend to do - and it's a fear one might have when committing to wear it overnight. The fear of smearing it all over your hair, or your pillow in your sleep? Legit fears! But fear not with this one, it melts into the skin like a regular moisturiser, but you feel it there for ages and when you wake up in the morning to wash your face ... my god my skin just felt so soft and smooth and like there was a real boost to the system before I would apply my day cream and put on my makeup.

They say -   Helps skin feel smoother and hydrated
Skin depends on water for its youthful functioning. But all day long, skin loses vital moisture. And the busier you are, the more it loses. This intense moisture replacement mask deeply quenches compromised moisture reserves and builds a reservoir for tomorrow. Japanese Seaweed repairs skin's barrier to prevent future dehydration and signs of premature ageing.
  • Best for dehydration
I say - It's true. You can use this more than the twice a week that is recommended if you like me find your skin unpredictable and on the dry side of the scale (pun intended? idk... ). It will draw out the toxins in the skin too, which is to be expected with any mask so afterward you may experience a small regional breakout but mine was tiny, and didn't last long at all, and for the results I felt in my skin that lasted so much longer than any little breakout issues. I use this now on pamper nights, or when I'm feeling tired and want my skin to have a boosted glow the next morning. It retails in the UK/Ireland for £22 - E29 for 100ml which is fantastic considering the size and the little amounts you only need to cover your face in a thin layer at a time. I purchased mine in +Debenhams Derry if you're wondering! And the Origins sales girl was just fab and friendly which is a big plus!  You can get it online too which is fab here at +Origins

All in all 10/10 I love it!

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

Vichy Essentielles Foaming Facial Cleanser Review!


The hunt for the perfect skincare routine continues, it's a hunt that may never end, but it's fun to search right? This month I've been dipping my toes in the #Vichy #skincare pool, having heard amazing things about this brand I decided it was time to give it a go. I started with the Essentielles Foaming Facial Cleanser. Since I'm looking to save time during the week where my skincare routine is concerned the idea of a foaming face wash that breaks down the majority of my makeup on the first application sounded good.


They say -  Essentielles, with rose polyphenol, glycerin,Vichy Thermal Spa Water. It protects, hydrates and soothes your skin to give you that healthy and radiant glow!
 
It's Paraben-free (yay), hypoallergenic and previously tested on sensitive skin under dermatological control before marketed. The rose element teamed with the other ingredients give it a soothing quality that I love and is somewhat hard to achieve in drugstore/high street available skincare, so this was pleasing to say the least. I've been using it for a little over six weeks as the first step in my week night routine and I really like that it's a time saver that leaves my skin soft without much reaction from my sensitive skin. It's also made me want to try out the rest of the Essentielles range to see if I have as good an experience with those items as I had with this.
 
You can pick up Vichy products online & at most pharmacies!


Tuesday, July 30, 2013

July Faves! Most reached for products in July!

July Favourites



Topshop lips makeup, €12 / Benefit bronzing powder, €20 / Neutrogena face wash, €5,27 / Elizabeth Arden , €15 / Clarins , €26 / Topshop 


Hi peeps! How is it almost August already? This year is seriously whooshing by isn't it! Anyway, since I rarely do 'favourite' posts I figured this would be a good one to do because we actually got something of a summer this past month and I've been able to enjoy having a tan - albeit a fake one. Being fair skinned, I'm prone to burning more than tanning, so it's just waste of time and skin for me really, and it's just encouraging wrinkles in the long run and no one has time for that! So, I fake bake when I get the chance. I may have to do a separate post on that though if you're interested at all!  

+Clarins  Sunscreen Care Milk Lotion Spray SPF 50

 Yep, SPF50 I was taking no chances! I liked this formula over the other more traditional sunscreens as it was thinner and easier absorbed for me. I dislike that about the cream formulas that they are so thick and take so long to dry in and again, no one has time for that. This was great because that 'milk' texture meant it absorbed super quick and didn't leave me waiting around flapping my arms like a bird trying to get it to dry quicker!Clarins is fab in general for skincare (their beauty flash balm is a must-have imo!) so this being great was no surprise. If you're looking for a quick way to do protection, this might be an option! 

+Benefit Cosmetics UK  Benefit Sunbeam

Ah, Sunbeam, I only ever get to use this when I am fake tanning, because again, being so pale it just doesn't really work on my natural skin-tone (however, Highbeam - it's paler sister is amazing for everyday glow).  It's fab on the cheeks on top of some bronzer, to give that sun-kissed glow an even bigger kiss. Highly recc this if you're struggling to find the balance between tanned and healthy or tangoed. This added to the glow without over doing it on the fake bake or the bronzer, imo! 

+Topshop Lips in "Trigger"


Topshop's makeup range is a wee babe, isn't it? I really adore their packaging (and being me, I'm a fool for pretty packaging!) and their consistences in shimmers and lipsticks have been great, at least in the ones I've picked up thus far. Trigger is a great deep ruby red, and teamed with super pale skin can be really vampy for a night out, or toned down with darker skin, it can have add an equally 'dressed up' feel to any outfit. I didn't find this drying at all, and the pigment was great and lasted well on my lips.

 TOPSHOP Nail Polish "Pale pink"

 I picked this up with the lipstick last month and sort of forgot about it, but I have been wearing some shade of pink on my nails since June, and this was what I wore for most of July. It's a great subtle shade with flecks of shimmer, but it's not too over powering on the shimmer which can be really off putting in a shade as girlish as this. It chipped easily, but I blame my lack of topcoat on that really, and I was working my fingers to the bonnnne *dramatic sigh* this month too - oops!


  Scandaleyes Waterproof Kohl Kajal Eyeliner - black.
+RimmelLondon
I had heard so much on the blogging sphere about the new Scandaleyes, and I have the nude one that I use from time to time on my waterline to brighten up my eyes. But I hadn't tried the good old fashioned black kohl. Consider me converted though, it's really smooth for a drugstore/high street liner - usually I find them rough and a bit harsh on the eyes for the upper lash line work etc. This one glided on smooth as you like and actually stayed put! In that 30 degree heat, that was no easy feat. For the price it's been a really good buy this month.

Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour® Cream Skin Protectant The Original.
+ElizabethArden HOFdundrum

 Good old Eight Hour Cream eh? I don't know about you, but I tend to go through phases with this. I use it obsessively, or not a all it seems. I've been reaching for it a lot this month because obviously, in the heat, your skin can go one of two ways depending on the type. You can either go oil overload, or it get dry, and for some reason now, mine does both. Shiny forehead, dry lip / chin area. The joys! Not. This however has been super handy to have in the handbag this month for my lips, lashes, eyebrows, on the days when I wasn't wearing much makeup and just wanted a little something to define my brows, or coat my lashes as I enjoyed the sunshine.  The smell can sometimes be a little overpowering but putting this on before a matte lipstick saves your lips so much hassle in the long run, and from ultimately drying out too much. 

 Rapid Clear Oil-Control Foaming Cleanser | Neutrogena

This one was a random purchase on one of my many trips to +Boots UK. I haven't used a #Neutrogena skin care product in a very, very long time. I was in a rush, and picked what I saw first as I needed a scrub. Surprisingly, this was kind of amazing? I mean, I was expecting to have the same reaction to it that I has as a teen (which was breakout city!) That didn't really happen with this, and it did keep sort of combat my shine issue - particularly if I wasn't up for makeup / powder etc. It smells nice, nothing too exciting mind, but nice, and the grains in the scrub aren't too harsh on more sensitive skins either which is a plus. Again, for the price, can I really argue? It does what it says really well, but I might have to limit my use because when it says 'rapid' oil control, it's not messing around. I figure this means if I over-use it might dry out my face completely. I'll keep you posted! 

 Last but not least, a worthy mention for my eyeshadows of choice since mid-June... 

MUA-Makeup-Academy-Undress-Me-Too

I won't wax on and on about these great colours anymore than I already have! I already did that in the review you'll find if you click!


Happy August guys! What are some of YOUR July Faves? Link me below I love checking out new blogs! xox








Saturday, July 20, 2013

Tom Ford's Cherry Lush Lipstick Review!

 I haven't blogged in almost a month, and that's seriously shameful. But, I do have several excuses ...ahem, reasons.



Main one was we bid fair well to my little pink Dell, and I had to wait before I could properly replace her. Sadly, she died with all my photos for what I had planned to blog inside her and stupidly, they weren't backed up elsewhere! Augh, right? Anyway, I figured I should get a move on as I have a load of different bits and bobs that I've been trying out as I feed my never ending and ever debilitating shopping addiction! First up, we have my super splurge in June, and that was my first #TomFord Lipstick.

Cherry Lush 



I've always pondered on the Tom Ford line of cosmetics but never really attempted to try anything, I think that might have to change to be honest. This is just love, I love her I love Cherry and all her lush-ness. I took a badly lit +Instagram with my phone and it appears a lot more 'red-red' in that than it is in real life, but still, I like all the reds either way.
Given that I love my high-street brands, and am forever mixing and matching, I think it's only fair that a girl treats herself to some of the more quote - unquote- higher end things every now and then, right? We deserve it, right?
Well,  I think we do girls, we work hard, we go through a lot and at the end of the day if something makes you happy and you can have it, I say why the hell not!

This isn't just a way for me to talk myself out of buyers remorse from now on you know... no! It's not...

(It so is, but eh?!)

Back to Cherry! She's a bit of a babe, seen here on the other babe, the ageless Winona!


They say :


Tom Ford Lip Colors are formulated with rare and exotic ingredients including soja seed extract, Brazilian murumuru butter and chamomile flower oil create an ultra-creamy texture with an incredibly smooth application. Specially treated color pigments are blended to deliver pure color with just the right balance of luminosity.
Tom Ford Lip Colors are formulated with rare and exotic ingredients including soja seed extract, Brazilian murumuru butter and chamomile flower oil create an ultra-creamy texture with an incredibly smooth application. Specially treated color pigments are blended to deliver pure color with just the right balance of luminosity. - See more at: http://beautyswatch.com/tom-ford-lipstick-cherry-lush/#sthash.kzCwb336.dpuf



Tom Ford Lip Colors are formulated with rare and exotic ingredients including soja seed extract, Brazilian murumuru butter and chamomile flower oil create an ultra-creamy texture with an incredibly smooth application. Specially treated color pigments are blended to deliver pure color with just the right balance of luminosity. - See more at: http://beautyswatch.com/tom-ford-lipstick-cherry-lush/#sthash.kzCwb336.dpuf

Sounds fab, right? Well, it kind of is, right up there with the +CHANEL Coco Shine lipsticks this one is super smooth and really hydrating (and didn't dry out my lips like I sort of expect most lipsticks to do no matter what they say!) and the pigment is just delish, teamed with a similar toned lip pencil you really have a great dramatic red lip colour but in a tone that's more .... night at the theater rather than say ... scary clown woman. That's never a bad thing, right? ;)

I'll definately be having a poke around the Tom Ford section's of my favourite dealers... I mean 'beauty counters' from now on!


Love it.


Don't forget the +Giveaway Promote that I have going ends in a couple of days see more here! +New Look

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

MUA Makeup Palette - Undress Me Too Review.

Looking for an excuse for a Tuesday Treat? This could be it! The Undress Me Too (naughty!) palette from MUA is cute, compact and beyond affordable no matter what budget you've promised yourself you'll stick to. At £4 you can't really complain right? And for all these shades, and textures, you'd be a fool to pass it up. It's been deemed the 'dupe' of a certain other, more expensively priced eye-shadow palette on the market right now and I have to say that it really shapes up to look that way. Majority of the shades are very similar to the more expensive product, and if you've wanted to try out the shades without forking over a fortune, this could be a great way of doing so. As you can see mine has got some serious use since I picked it up a few weeks ago! If you follow me on Instagram, you'll have seen my first impressions.


They say ' The Undress Me Too Palette embraces this season’s fresh-faced look and urges you to strip back and go nude! Made up of 12 warm and timeless shades, this palette will suit all skin tones and any occasion. The pearlescent flesh-toned finish of Shades Naked, Devotion and Shy are perfect for highlighting the eyes, while the shimmering bronze hues of Shades Fiery, Lavish and Dreamy give a sultry effect. There are even smouldering contour tones in Shades Tranquil, Exposed and Wink so that you can transform your minimalist day look into a sexy smokey eye in an instant. Featuring a shade range that runs from the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal grey, this isn’t just ‘shades of beige. Each shadow has a distinct look that works for everyone.'





They aren't wrong. I've been reaching for this product every day for work since I got it. The shades are a lot more day-time friendly than some of the previous glitter-happy eye-shadows I've seen, the three matte shades - as you can see get a lot of use in particular. Wink has been my go-to crease shade since I got it, and it's been one that adds that depth needed without adding a heavy smokey feel which is perfect for day time and even more perfect when you're working in a professional environment, where you still want to play around with your look but want to remain respectful and appropriate. The darker shades - the black - is great for a over eyeliner powder to enhance and seal in a cat eye line, or smudged just right if you need more depth or indeed want to go for the full on smokey eye. The glittered shades aren't over saturated with glitter that makes them impossible to wear, in fact for the price I was really pleasantly surprised how easy these shades were to work with - and how long they lasted without caking or creasing. I've also bought a creme blusher and a press powder from the MUA range, and I think I'll have a wee review on those up soon, if you'd be interested in reading! ;)

The #MUA Undress Me Too retails for £4 /E5.50 and I found mine in my local +S Loves SuperDrug.

Happy Smudging Peeps!

Till next time!

xo


Facebook - Instagram - Twitter 


Saturday, June 15, 2013

Liz Earle - Intensive Nourishing Treatment Mask Review

Hi there! I know, it has been ages hasn’t it? Well not really ages, but in blogger world, it’s been practically a life time since I’ve been here with something for you guys and for that I am ever so sorry! You know the drill, life, work, life, work, it all gets in the way and suddenly you have a list as long as your arm of reviews you want to write and things you want to talk about! 

Without further ado let’s get on with it, shall we?




The one product that I’ve been dying to discuss recently is the Liz Earle range of skincare, specifically their Intensive Nourishing Treatment Mask. I’ve been curious about the Liz Earle range for some time now and decided to bite the bullet with this being my first product from their range – and there’s tons of products and they all sound great to be honest. Then again, most things sound great at first before you try them, it’s in trying them we get to know what suits us, and what doesn’t, the joys!

 This treatment mask contains West African Shea, Borage seed oil (to enhance the skin’s natural barrier and comfrey to calm – they say) while the uplifting fragrance of rose-scented geranium that (helps refresh your senses – they say). The packaging is quite simple and straight forward, very ‘this  belongs in a fancy spa’ feel to it really, but since it’s about what’s inside that counts, I was more fussed with what it would or wouldn’t be doing for my Irish winter worn skin and if it would save me from the brink!

Did it?

Well, actually I think it did.

The mask itself is light, but has a clay like texture when applied (rather liberally in my case) to the face, you can choose to do an all over job or if you just have some dry areas, choose to focus more on them. I choose because of my skin type, the all over, lather it on like its’ going out of fashion type of approach and I loved it. After the first try where I cleansed, toned and applied, left it on for about 15mins I’d say… and then washed off with warm water and a muslin cloth.

 Goodness me!     

It left my skin feels beyond baby soft, after just one go! I was well impressed! However, the test for me would be in the reaction my skin would or wouldn’t take from it the next day – the pitfalls of dry, super sensitive skin ladies! The next day I did have a small break out, on my cheeks and chin, but it wasn’t crazy painful breakout like I usually get from a ‘bad reaction’ it was more ‘hey this is your skin dealing with a deep clean, deal with it’ kind of thing. It faded in a day, so there was no real issue, so I kept on using the mask. About twice a week, I reached for this, and since May, I’ve noticed that when I use it, it leaves my skin softer, and a lot less parched than it was before. I find my makeup goes on smoother, and I’ve less dry patches around my nose / chin area etc. Apparently it’s one of those masks that you can leave on overnight for a really deep treatment, and if that’s the case maybe this is one for the long haul flights? I think it would be a great option to have, as it doesn’t leave that crazy scary ‘face mask’ look when it’s sinking in either, so wearing it in public for such things like a long haul flight would work because you would be protecting and treating your skin AND not scaring small children or the flight attendants! Score!
Over all for the Liz Earl Treatment Mask 9/10. I will definitely be repurchasing.


Have you tried any of the +Liz Earle products? And if so which should I aim for next and why!?

Follow me if you'd like Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, Facebook

Until next time! 

Laura
xo

Sunday, April 14, 2013

Start of 'Theme Week' - Scent Sunday! Viva la Juicy - La Fleur

Hi guys! Happy Sunday! Hope you're weekend is going well. I've decided to do a cheeky theme week on the blog this week, just for fun really, so hopefully you'll enjoy the puns if nothing else. Today we start with 'Scent Sunday' taking about my love of certain perfumes, and showcasing one of my newest try outs.
Juicy Couture - Viva La Juicy La Fleur!

First off let me say that I'm a loyalist when it comes to certain perfumes. My two that have circulated for years now are Coco Mademoiselle - +CHANEL and +Thierry Mugler Angel. But every now and again I'll receive one as a gift, or a new scent will catch my eye (and my nose!) and I just have to check it out too.


I received the +Juicy Couture  Viva La Juicy - La Fleur as a Christmas gift from a friend, and it wasn't something I had ever thought of trying for myself before, mainly because I figured they would be very sweet smelling, almost sickly sweet, and that didn't appeal to me at all. But, since I was given this, I was pleasantly surprised by how nice it did smell, and how much of a spring feel it had to it. Which means, it's perfect for this time of year.
First of all I was taken in by the pretty packaging, I liked it but it did seem aimed at a slightly younger audience than myself in my mid 20s. But, I know the brand and it's usual affection for prettily accessorized bottles, and this one was no exception. It came wrapped in a pretty pink bow and sporting a 'badge' of Couture! 
How sweet. 
I love the shape of the bottle, and the little extras that give it that little something special to stand apart from other fragrance packaging out there.

Next up was the scent, because with perfume that's really what it boils down to - it's nice to be pretty and dainty and what not but if you don't like the smell there's really not much else to talk about is there? With this one, at first I was unsure if I liked it or not, but smelling it from the bottle vs on the skin - it becomes a lot more subtle on the skin after a few minutes, and that for me is important. There is nothing worse than the waft of over applied perfume, it becomes too much too quickly. So the fact that this hits the nose gently and over time is a great plus.

The Juicy peeps tell us this perfume is:

An Uplifting. Playful. Dreamy. Inspired by the blushing aura of being in love, Viva la Juicy La Fleur is a breathtaking new fragrance that captures the dreamy, ethereal feeling of love’s first embrace.


With notes of  Wild Berries, Mandarin, Honeysuckle, Gardenia Petals, Soft Jasmine, Vanilla, Caramel, Sandalwood it runs the risk of becoming one of those 'sickly' sweet smells, but again, on different skin to a different nose the smell may or may not become just that. For me, it did not and the soft floral smell is really pleasant and appealing. 

Have you tried La Fleur? If so do you like it? Love it? Hate it? Sound off below! :D

EIC/ Laura
xox
Enhanced by Zemanta